laureus Sports Awards Monaco 2017

Laureus Sports Awards Monaco 2017

Usain Bolt wins Laureus Sportsman Of The Year in Monaco at the 17th annual Laureus World Sports Awards ceremony hosted by actor Hugh Grant.

Also featured some of the biggest names in world sport.
Simone Biles won Laureus sportswoman of the year after her Rio extravaganza, Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri won a special discretionary award, Formula One world champion Nico Rosberg won Laureus world breakthrough.

Laureus Academy Member and football legend Carles Puyol kicked off the #SneakersforGood campaign by telling his 25m social media followers of his intention to lace up his sneakers for the Laureus Awards.

Leading sportspersons like Simone Biles, Nico Rosberg, Alessandro Del Piero were wearing sneakers at this Laureus World Sports Awards 2017 with their tuxedos and ball gowns, for a special reason.

While sending a message to the world that Laureus’ Red Carpet can be a sporting field, #SneakersforGood also help support Laureus’ partner Sal’s Shoes, who collects pairs of shoes and distribute them to those in need around the world.

A selection of guests who walked the Red Carpet  also wore ‘special edition’ sneakers, which  were auctioned off for the benefit of Laureus Sport for Good and Sal’s Shoes.

It all started in 2016 with Novak Djokovic, 2016 Laureus World Sportsman of the Year, in a pair of dazzling white sneakers at the Red Carpet surprising all.

In Monaco, Laureus Academy Member and athletics legend Michael Johnson wore his limited edition gold trainers to commemorate 21 years since his record performance at the Atlanta 1996 Olympic Games. Brazilian football icon Cafu rolled back the years and wore the boots he wore in a World Cup Final.

The Awards, returning to Monaco where they were first held in 2000, are presented across a number of categories and celebrate great sporting achievement from the last year. The Nominees for each Award are selected by a panel of over 2000 sports journalists with the winner selected from a shortlist by the legendary members of the Laureus World Sports Academy.

Watch it live on